Posted in 161MC

Logotopia

My journey in the LOGO land started a few weeks ago with a simple question:

”Look around you and find out what defines you” (tutor Luke, in the first skills session)

thinkstockphotos-186947229

TRIAL. FAIL. ERROR. AGAIN!

I thought a lot about my passions. So I wanted to insert pointed shoes, peacock feathers, roses or pen feathers in my logo. But all the logos that I liked either were taken, either were too complicated and their meanings mingled. I have tried some web sites that could generate for me some “artistic logos”, but I gave up searching. Nothing was what I wanted and needed. I had to it for myself, by myself.

“If you want a thing done well, do it yourself.” (American quote)

I liked the logo with the girl with 2 colors for her hair (because there are my main distinct characteristics: either romantic, or shy). But it seemed to me to be really like the France’s symbol, Marianne, from their motto: “Liberté. Égalité. Fraternité!

liberte-egalite-fraternite

Then I thought that my creativity is infinity and keeps renewing each time I think that I lack of inspiration. This guided me to a lesson of physics, that described a new theory: the fractals. A fractal is a never-ending pattern. Fractals are infinitely complex patterns that are self-similar across different scales.

snowflake3-copy

But I wasn’t satisfied. I didn’t look like something I would wear or present with pride. A purple snowflake with a middle green point… As a generator of pentagram painting (mandala). I didn’t want to make any incantation or to summon any demon, so this didn’t suit me either, because it can be confused with a gear or with some symbol that more car-technically.

Inner search and solution

Because my idea remained, but its manifestation wasn’t fulfilling enough, I have searched  my room, seeking the perfect shape and the perfect tone for my logo. And I finally found it around my neck. Because I’ve read in this article that I should never try to force it. “When it comes to inspiration, it’s all out there. Just go and help yourself” (Martin Christie, graphic designer)

 20170213_004009

This image was, for me, the point of focus where I could express myself and my spirituality. Because a logo, in my opinion, should be composed from a main body, (some flesh or a shape) + a soul, a spirit (who has a deep meaning).


So this is how MY LOGO ended up looking like:

Untitled-1

HUMANKIND.

-INTERPRETATION AND SYMBOLS-

I should start by saying that my target audience is the public that would watch my cult cinema productions. I am inspired to use the same artistic techniques as the great directors Ingmar Bergman, Al. Hithcock, W. Allen, Ch. Chaplin (even ”film noir”), Fr. Fellini, Kr. Kieślowski, Ak. Kurosawa, A. Tarkovski and N. Mihalkov.

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-00-48-05
The first scene from “Circus” by Charlie Chaplin

This is the point that my LOGO starts making sense and being kind of incorporate in the context of abstract, yet meaningful piece of art. It is supposed to separate the essence from the plain appearance: the stylized body (appearance) should be visible contrasting the detailed and supra-realistic green eye (the hidden essence).

large
“Take the color out of your body, to find yourself”. If you were a color, what color would you be?
My LOGO should represent myself and my personality, and this is why I’ve left intentionally such a big gap between the body and the soul (the eye). I didn’t focus too much on the body (the shape being inspired by something that I usually wear), but I have chosen carefully the color.

The silver color is the metal color for purity and innocence. And this is why my logo body plays with different types of silver color. In addition, I’ve tried as hard as I could to extract the essence from this evanescent body.The elongated shape of my Logo Body and his lack of details reduces the earth existence to the essential. Also, the form of the arms makes me think that this Person is hugging the sky, like a tree crown that desires the infinite. Because Green is serene and peaceful, and it conveys the idea of growth.”, If I had to cite the Psychology Of Color In Logo Design

stylized-vector-tree
The infinite life can touch the sky by the arms of a tree.

On the other hand, I didn’t focus on the human shell so much, but I wanted to represent (and this is the main focus point) what I rise up above my head: the green eye of KNOWLEDGE, ETHICS and SENSE. I knew that, in a logo, it should be one single memorably point, that the public will link with my product/company. So, I’ve lifted the eye of knowledge on the pedestal of human essence.

“Human linguist Louise Banks begins to have visions of the past and future as her perception of time shifts from linear to circular” (Oscar nominated movie,Arrival“)

And this is why my Logo has some common aspects with the language of aliens. It can turn a normal mind into a circle, so it can make infinite connection between the tree unknown problems of humankind: past, present and future. Because every problem that we have (and that extends to infinity) should be taken out of our body and mind, and risen up, higher than our hearts and heads. Maybe, at the level of knowledge and sacrality, where old and future times meet.

Also, I was inspired from the EGYPTIAN MYTHOLOGY.

Eye of Horus is an ancient Egyptian symbol of protection, royal power and good health. The name “the green one” was known to the Greeks and Romans as “uraeus” from the Egyptian “iaret” meaning “risen one”, from the image of a cobra rising up in protection.The eye of Horus was often used to symbolise sacrifice, healing, restoration, and protection.

This is the color of the eye that represents, for me, the permanent connection that I have with my consumers. The green “apple of my eye” is a strong color that implies me into the audience’s life. And this is how I’m representing my gratitude for my public: by giving them protection, healing and restoration (good movies, in a nutshell). It’s my way of comforting my audience, by giving them quality and inspired thoughts, making them feel like they have the royal power of choosing me and my productions.

nice-tribal-horus-eye-with-green-eyeball-tattoo-design


Comparison with famous brands

Starbucks

”The original Starbucks logo had a twin-tailed mermaid, known as Melusine. Beyond the tale of Melusine and the mythological mystery of the mermaid, the other gods of the sea are among the most powerful in history, as water represents the power of creation which can both give, and destroy life.”

10385278_766654150021684_154566957869993328_n
Starbucks coffee in a modern artist’s vision, Cristina Rădulescu

My logo, as well, represent the mythological creature of a stylyzed man who takes his eyes out of his mind and bets everything on himself. This is why I didn’t feel the need to write words on my logo. I think it’s enough as what it already is.

And mermaid is represented in the middle of the focus point, in a circle. Starbucks’ designers focused more on the mythological creature than on the font. I can recognize the franchise’ logo without a single written word.

main-qimg-42a047420a707f34a6c6bf703766e528-c

On the other hand, I can say that my logo represents my first two letters of my name (I and O). So this can be a hidden message (like FedEx with the arrow, or like Toblerone with their monkey). Now, the single thing I have to do is to find my way to success, with a great strategy of marketing (like Starbucks’ manager did, by opening two coffee shops in the same place, one opposite of another, just for being sure that his coffee is in people’s ways to work. He adapted to the town’s people’s habits and he became famous). Because I don’t want to believe that, “in the future, everyone will be famous for fifteen minutes” or “in fifteen minutes” (Andy Warhol) or “for fifteen people” (Momus, in “Microcelebrity and the Branded Self”, by Theresa Senft).

“Whether the cup is red, purple, green, or decorated in Christmas design, the spirit of the holidays is within you, nobody else, and regardless, year round, the mermaid still will be on the Starbucks cup – luring people to pay $5.00 for a cup of coffee with her siren song” (J. Sodini)

APPLE

Apple’s logo is interesting because it is not related (at all) with their products. Apple’s designer didn’t choose a telephone, a gear or a laptop for their logo. But it used the most common of the fruits and reinvented it by biting a part of it.

apple_homekit_healthkit

Knowing this, I’ve chosen a totem, a logo without words and that doesn’t link in a obvious way with what I’ll be selling (or delivering): cult movies and media artifacts. It represents a person and we all work with people and watch people, and love people, and hate people. And film people and develop an artifact for some people (even if YOU are these people).

Apple’s success was guaranteed (not just thanks to the quality of the products, but because of the brand). By having his own operation system and because of all the marketing that was made around this product, it became so mainstream that everyone felt the need to be “cool” and to get an Apple branded gadget. Because you could see everywhere that bitten apple and you feel important. And now Apple’s one of the biggest brands on the marketplace. Why? The explanation about “The postmodern consumer and identity”, from “Strategic Brand Management” is that:

“The self is conceptualized in postmodern consumer culture not as a given product of a social system nor as a fixed entity which we can simply adopt, but as something we can actively create, partially through consumtion. As consumers, we exercise free will to form images of who we want to be” (Elliott, R., Percy, L. and Pervan, S. )


Reflection upon the perception of the public

I really love to receive a lot of feedback from my friends, from my language master and from my tutor, because they showed me how a logo can be perceived by various types of people and its meaning can be different according to what people like, watch or see. In literature, I can call this concept ”Opera aperta” (defined by Umberto Eco in his collection of essays, The Role of the Reader”) meaning that you can understand a book, a text or an idea based on what you have already knew, read or thought. This is the main linking that is made in books (is a system of referencing that connects each book and each idea).

Differences between old and new media

But, also, this experience of showing my work to different types of people, who come from various ”virtual worlds” and who watch complex or commercial movies and who play totally different games, made me realize that I can’t choose (conscious) my public, I can’t really fix my target audience; but they can choose me, because I resemble to something they already like, or because they find something interesting, exciting or unusual in my work.

The audience chooses me, and not I choose my public!

And this a big difference between the traditional media (represented by books and newspapers) and the new media. In the old media, if I writer chooses a romantic subject, the audience target will be either young adults (women), either young couples, or adult and single women. As well, if a newspaper will write only about politics, it will be read only by that people that are interested in this kind of stuff. But, today, in the New Media, the author no longer chooses his target; he’s not the hunter anymore, but the haunted!

“People are talking, and they’re talking about brands. What those brands decide to do about that can make all the difference.” (Agresta et al. 2011)


Bibliography

Articles, Journals and Media Reports

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of American Idioms and Phrasal Verbs. (2002). Retrieved February 24 2017 from http://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/If+you+want+a+thing+done+well%2c+do+it+yourself

Panko, B. (2016) Does The Linguistic Theory At The Center Of The Film ‘Arrival’ Have Any Merit? [online] available from <http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/does-century-old-linguistic-hypothesis-center-film-arrival-have-any-merit-180961284/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Audience / Media Concepts / Teaching Media Studies / Home – Media Studies Private Community [online] available from <http://media-studies.tki.org.nz/Teaching-media-studies/Media-concepts/Audience&gt; [24 February 2017]

Sodini, J. (2015) Starbucks Cup Controversy & The Hidden Meaning Of The Starbucks Logo [online] available from <http://www.collective-evolution.com/2015/11/11/starbucks-cup-controversy-the-hidden-meaning-of-the-starbucks-logo/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Free Logo Design – Create Your Own Logo, It’s Free! [online] available from <http://www.freelogodesign.org/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Marianne [online] available from <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marianne&gt; [24 February 2017]

Wolfe, J., Schuetz, J. and Eckert, E. (2015) What Are Fractals? – Fractal Foundation [online] available from <http://fractalfoundation.org/resources/what-are-fractals/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Christie, M. (2016) 10 Ways To Find Logo Design Inspiration [online] available from <http://www.creativebloq.com/logo-design/where-find-inspiration-7133517&gt; [24 February 2017]

Vrancken, S. (2011) Healing Powers Of Mandala Coloring [online] available from <https://mandalacoloringmeditation.com/mandala-coloring/mandala-articles/about-mandala-coloring-healing/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Simon, (2015) The Psychology Of Color In Logo Design – The Logo Company [online] available from <https://thelogocompany.net/blog/infographics/psychology-color-logo-design/&gt; [24 February 2017]

Anon. (2017) Melusine [online] available from <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melusine&gt; [24 February 2017]

Movies

 (2016) Arrival. [film] USA: Denis Villeneuve

(2013) Jobs. [film] USA: Joshua Michael Stern

Books

Senft, T. (2012) Microcelebrity And The Branded Self [online] 1st edn. Blackwell Companion to New Media Dynamics: Eds. Jean Burgess and Axel Bruns. available from <https://cumoodle.coventry.ac.uk/pluginfile.php/1534813/mod_resource/content/2/Final_Microcelebrity%20and%20the%20Branded%20Self_Senft%20in%20Blackwell%20Companion%20to%20New%20Media%20Dynamics.%20Eds.%20Jean%20Burgess%20and%20Axel%20Bruns.pdf&gt; [24 February 2017]

Elliott, R., Percy, L. and Pervan, S. (2011) Strategic Brand Management. 1st edn. Oxford: Oxford University Press [online] available from <https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=kWicAQAAQBAJ&pg=PA50&lpg=PA50&dq=do+we+make+media+for+ourselves&source=bl&ots=P1BXqkbMHi&sig=UkOkZzb-EdHNDMH8RGFSJMenFNE&hl=ro&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi5hJWMz6nSAhUKLMAKHdqTB-84FBDoAQgxMAQ#v=onepage&q=do%20we%20make%20media%20for%20ourselves&f=false > [24 February 2017]

Eco, U. (1984) The Role Of The Reader : Explorations In The Semiotics Of Texts [online] 1st edn. Bloomington : Indiana University Press,. available from <https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=KlJNp_hUmEIC&printsec=frontcover&hl=ro&source=gbs_ge_summary_r&cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false&gt; [24 February 2017]

Agresta, S. and Bough, B. (2011) Perspectives On Social Media Marketing. Boston: Course Technology/Cengage Learning

Leave a Reply

